Design my tattoo

camera

Camera tattoo (Source: free-extras)

For this assignment, now onto the design assignments, I chose the ‘Tattoos 4 life‘, this assignment gets you to design a tattoo you would like and to put it against all different to create a tattoo that has different emotions and meanings behind it.

So I’ve said before in my ‘Do before I die’ blog post that i really wanted a tattoo, after much thought and consideration I think I’ve decided what tattoo I want… I want a picture of a camera! I have chosen a camera because I’ve always been interested in photography, photography was the main thing me and my dad would do together as he had a photography business doing weddings and nature, so it’s very personal to me.
I only want a small one where it’s not really on show, I like the idea of a hidden tattoo, this is because I’m quite a traditional person and like the idea of people only being able to see them once they know you, like a hidden gem. I also believe that one day I’ll have a good professional career, therefore not really wanting a sleeve full of tattoo’s of skulls and roses down my arm.

If anyone has any idea’s of where I can get it pleeeaaaassseee share?! I decided this assignment suited me because I believe if you do get a tattoo that it should be unique to you, it is for life after all. To make a tattoo unique there are a number of things you could do, instead of just taking a picture of the internet and asking a tattoo artist to draw it on you, how about you add little things to it, can be pictures of hearts, leaves or some Roman Numerals for some dates that are important to you.

Once I had chosen a camera tattoo, I had to find lots of camera tattoo’s to chose which one i liked. I then created a montage, using Fotor so i could see them all side-by-side to decide which one i liked best.
I liked all of these photo’s because there all modern camera’s but still with a slightly old touch and they all have something original about them.
As seen earlier, I chose the first tattoo, the black and white one.

camera montage

So after I had chosen my tattoo, which i just found on the internet, I put it in photoshop added a back ground colour, blue, pink, red, green and orange. Once in photoshop i just simply changed the layer theme so that some of the colour would show through.

Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 15.45.33 Screen Shot 2015-11-13 at 15.45.42

After editing the camera into a variety of colours I created a collage using ‘befunky‘. This is such a simple and easy website to create collages on, I’ve used it before, and I’m very happy to use it again!
I decided that each colour represents a different mood, camera collage

Blue: Dark and mysterious

Pink: Lovely and happy

Green: Nature and peace

Red: Danger and warning

Orange: sunsets and vibrant


Some other types of tattoos that look similar to this are called water coloured tattoo’s, these create quite a unique tattoo which can be personalised to you a lot more than black and white. This is because you can chose the colours and intertwine throughout your tattoo which represent you.

5efc3a3ff86a6e36d60041c70c0a2824 c39b9b1f549ba2fc8a78a435128c2997  enhanced-15376-1398034987-1

To bring the water-coloured tattoo’s and the camera tattoo’s together i found a nice effect of a camera tattoo that had watercolours going over and through the camera. I think this makes a really nice effect because it brings the camera to life. Being a photographer i also know how it feels when you pick up your camera and take pictures of something beautiful, and i believe this tattoo just represents that as it shows how messy yet perfect taking photo’s can be.

Baris-Yesilbas-12

References

Camera tattoo

Camera tattoo 2

Camera tattoo 3 

Camera tattoo 4 

Camera tattoo 5 

Camera tattoo 6 

Elephant water coloured tattoo 

Paper bird water coloured tattoo

Bird water coloured tattoo

Water coloured camera tattoo

About alicemutch

Hello! So what to say about myself? I'm a 19 year old 'city girl' and by city i don't mean I live in London or New York, as much as i would love that, I just live in a English City, but compared to the countryside, I am a city girl.
This entry was posted in Assignment, Best Work, Design and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

