An illusion of sound

Emotions Through Sound

“Try to convey a certain emotion, such as fear, stress, sadness, etc. by combing sound effects. They can be human sounds, such as crying with laughter in the background, to maybe express someone’s fears or being embarrassed, or you can get really artsy and try to convey an emotion by sound effects– like loud noises to show intensity, thunder to show fear, or quick, chirpy noises to show happiness. Edit at least 4 sounds together to show an emotion, upload it to soundcloud and then tag it with the appropriate tags.”

So today my challenge was to try and make people feel things using only sound effects edited together, I have done a post similar to this before in my Creepy Sounds post.

Again, I chose to try and bring out the fear emotion, I need to stop watching scary movies before i go to bed… I chose to do this assignment because I think it’s interesting that just audio can make you feel something so amazing, how just one audio piece won’t make you feel much. I chose base my sound story on fear because I’ve always watched scary films, every Friday night me and my dad would go to blockbusters and pick out one film each, a scary film would always be on the cards. So I guess I like films and sounds scary me, so I guess i should try it the other way round? And try give someone else a scare for once?!
However once its collaborated with multiple pieces it can really make you feel like you’re right in the middle of it all.

I think just using sound effect has become so rare in today’s media, especially to try and make people feel something. The majority of media used is video and images, which are all over social media, televisions, magazines and so on… So it’s nice to actually make something that’s a bit more unique compared to the day to day media that is used.

Take a listen and then i’ll explain how i made it!

Here’s my little sound story then, whether it will make you feel a little scared or not, just take a listen. Then if you want to make something similar, that just that little bit different to the everyday media then I’ll explain that after!

ENJOY! 🙂

So I hoped you enjoyed that, and maybe scared you a little??

What’s your favourite genre?

I created and edited this by using multiple sounds effects and editing them on Abode Audition, you can use audacity. Firstly I can to come find some sound effects to use, to do this I looked through YouTube and to find sound effects that would suit my genre.
Jaws theme tune
Thunder
Heavy Breathing
Sea Storm

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 14.22.29

After downloading and importing these sound effects into Adobe Audition, I would put them all into into a multitrack so I could put them all in place and listen to what sounds good in what place. After i found out what worked best, I was able to add the thunder sound effect in the silent parts of the theme tune to create a tense atmosphere.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 14.23.13

When I had everything in place the next thing to do was change all the volume levels, this is really simple. So you can either drag the whole yellow line which changed the dB (volume) or if you want to just increase or decrease the volume of a certain part of the audio piece you can just click the yellow line and change the volume however you like.

Screen Shot 2016-01-20 at 14.23.48

If you want to learn how to use Adobe Audition in a bit more detail, and off a bit more of a professional, then head over to Adobe, where they have loads of tutorials to do all sorts of pretty cools things, only using sound.

However, if you did ever want to add a bit more to it, you could always just make a little video to go along with it and combine the two media’s using Adobe Premier.

Reference’s

Jaws theme tune
Thunder
Heavy Breathing
Sea Storm

About alicemutch

Hello! So what to say about myself? I'm a 19 year old 'city girl' and by city i don't mean I live in London or New York, as much as i would love that, I just live in a English City, but compared to the countryside, I am a city girl.
This entry was posted in Audio, Best Work and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

