Through the years

A Changing Character

“For this assignment you need to pick any chacter and follow thier progression that they have had (TV characters from a long standing TV show will probably be best).  Use video clips to show how the character has changed and grown up over time.  Try to make their progression seem as dramatic as you possibly can.”

For this assignment to convey the change of a character over the years, I’ve chosen to base this on Harry Potter, but not just him. Because the Harry Potter films are based around the ‘three musketeers’ including, Harry Potter, played by Daniel Radcliffe, Ron Weasley, played by Rupert Grint and Hermione Granger, played by Emma Watson.

Through-out the 8 films the characters had changed, both physically and emotionally so I thought Harry Potter would be the best film to chose, to almost time lapse the whole production.

I also chose the Harry Potter cast because the first film, Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone was released in 2001, was when i was growing up and just being introduced to films, especially Harry Potter. Ever since then i had a new Harry Potter film being released ever 1-2 years until Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows – Part 2 was released in 2011.
So in a way I feel like I’ve grown up with the Harry Potter cast, so it’s nice, and funny, to see their change, as me and my friend’s went through the same change at very similar times.

To create this collage of video’s i used Imovie, just because I’m used to this software and i know how it works. So first i had to download a million different movie clips form all the Harry Potter movies, I downloaded these from Youtube using ClipConverte.

Once downloaded and imported into Imovie i could begin the process of editing.
This involved watching every clip waaay too many times to place them in order from youngest to oldest.

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 18.06.28

Eventually everything was in place and then all that’s left to do was to add some nice little transitions, I went for the ‘movie’ effect seems as it fitted in nicely!

Screen Shot 2016-02-26 at 18.06.46

However, the more times I watch this, the more times I realise the films of Harry  Potter is really just Harry Potter himself being a massive third wheel to Hermione and Ron’s love life…

About alicemutch

Hello! So what to say about myself? I'm a 19 year old 'city girl' and by city i don't mean I live in London or New York, as much as i would love that, I just live in a English City, but compared to the countryside, I am a city girl.
This entry was posted in Best Work, Mashup/Remix and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

